A Room of One’s Own / Where a Writer Works

Where is your home?

 Before I had an actual office, I wrote in a small area off of our bedroom that serves as a hallway to our backyard deck.

Picture this, years ago: 

“Mom!  We’re going on the deck!” 

Tofer and friend tromp through my “office” and I slide from my computer to give them room to get to doorway.

 Screen door shuts. 

I slide back.  

Writing resumes. 

Screen door opens.

“Forgot the ping pong paddles,” says my son.

I slide away. 

Son walks by.

Wait till paddles are located. 

Screen door shuts. 

I slide back. 

Bathroom break? 

Repeat.

But now I have a room of my own.  The door actually closes!  Bookshelves line the walls.  A large picture window looks out over the deck and an open area, where deer, owls, and “my” cooper hawk share their space.  I am very much at home here, and am happiest in this spot. 

Note the clutter in the photo.  Old pictures of my parents are around me; my Leo the lion I got when I was five, who has lost most of his fur, sits on the top shelf surveying my progress.  (Or lack of progress, depending upon the day.) Collectibles holding books are in front of real books on the shelves, and an altar of Mother Marys and angels are on my desk.

Better Homes and Gardens it’s not. 

But it is me. 

Where is your home?  Or rather, where are you most at home when you write? 

 One friend of mine can’t write at home.  She writes in a local coffee shop.  When my son was a baby, I hired a sitter and wrote in the library reference department, where their desks have those great tall sides allowing privacy. 

But when you are really caught up in your imagination, you can write on a bus, in an airport, or at a political rally.  Nothing will stop you. 

Writing Prompt:  Try different settings as you write.  Which place works best for you?  A library, bookstore coffee shop, a picnic table, or in your own room. 

Write about your writing space.  Why does it work?  Why doesn’t it work?  What can you do to make it work?  Perhaps it’s a matter of uncluttering it, or repositioning the furniture to allow more openness. 

Play with your space just like you play with your words.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

