Working Through the Blocks

I’ve just read a great book called The War of Art:  Break Through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles by Steven Pressfield. 

Writes Pressfield:

Are you paralyzed with fear?  That’s a good sign.  Fear is good. Like self-doubt, fear is an indicator.  Fear tells us what we have to do.  Remember our rule of thumb:  The more scared we are of a work or calling, the more sure we can be that we have to do it.

Resistance is experienced as fear; the degree of fear equates to the strength of Resistance.  Therefore the more fear we feel about a specific enterprise, the more certain we can be that the enterprise is important to us and to the growth of our soul.  That’s why we feel so much Resistance.  If it meant nothing to us, there’d be no Resistance. 

What do you do to avoid your writing?  How can you help yourself get unblocked? 

Recently, I began a large project that overwhelms me.  So I broke the huge jobs down into tiny pieces.  I’ve discovered that this way I feel more in control.  Yes!  I can write one letter or complete one interview.  Yes!  I can write one scene or chapter.  

What can you do to conquer your fear with your art?  Do you do any avoidance techniques?  Mine:  I do the laundry, visit the kitchen for snacks, and gaze out of my window to keep track of the wildlife. 

So instead, I reward myself after each and every job I check off my list.  I walk my dog, check  e-mail, or write something for fun instead of writing something I have to write.  

Writing Prompts:

1.  Today make a list of projects/goals you’d like to accomplish.

2.  Make a list of small rewards you’ll give yourself when you finish a project or goal.

3.  Practice the fine art of meditation and other relaxation techniques.  Listening to music, talking with other writers and artists, and living in the moment may be helpful ways for you to break through fear and embrace your art.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Working Through the Blocks”

  1. Nannette Says:

    Liz,

    This is a great post. Thanks for both your thoughts and the summary of the book!

    Nannette

Leave a Reply

