A Food Memory

Thanks to an online sight that allows people to connect with people from their past, a friend from elementary school and I found each other.  She posted a note about how she remembered us playing together at my house and my mother making the best hamburger she had ever eaten in her life! 

Why do I not recall this moment in my history?  Perhaps because I ate my mother’s great cooking all of the time.  But it’s interesting to note that the sense of taste brought a memory of our time together back to her. 

When in your writing could the sense of taste be used?  (Don’t just stick in the sense of taste – – only if it is appropriate.)  Or perhaps a particular taste is so wonderful or so horrible, it will move you to write a poem about it? 

Right now, the thought of my mother’s cooking, reminds me to add this in my own writing.  And to hit the kitchen for a mid-morning snack!

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “A Food Memory”

  1. Karen Says:

    All parts of our body have teeny-weeny memory cells in them that make us recall a certain taste, a certain feeling, a certain sound. It’s just a matter of pinpointing the things that trigger those memories. 🙂

  2. Kicking Pinay Says:

    For me, the smell of books reminds me of the happy parts of my childhood. 🙂

    • lizbooks Says:

      OOh, yes. To this day, when my son gets a book as a gift, the first thing he does is open it and smell it! My husband thinks he and I are crazy, but we LOVE the smell of books.

  3. Sexy Nomad Says:

    There are also moments in my past that I do not recall… Until something will trigger it… like the smell of rain or my dad’s cooking. 🙂

    • lizbooks Says:

      Absolutely! The scent of smell supposedly is the most-often forgotten about scent, but the one that is most connected to memory. And the smell of rain remains one of my favorites, even though I really love sunshine. Go figure! Liz

Leave a Reply

