Make a Date with Writing

Make a Date with Writing Jan. 29, 2009

I’m author Elizabeth Koehler-Pentacoff, and I’m beginning a blog today that will tie in dates in history with ideas to inspire your imaginations. We all have days where we stare at our computer screens or the blank piece of paper in front of us and say, “What shall I write about? What shall I draw?” I hope these prompts will spark something within you for your creative project.

This date in 1959, Disney released Sleeping Beauty in the movie theaters. (One of my favorite fairy tales)

Write a fairy tale of your own. Or take an old fairy tale, and give it a new and exciting twist. Update it, combine a bunch of fairy tale characters together, mix and match and presto. Your own fairy tale.

And . . . if you’d like to take this another step . . . illustrate your fairy tale in any medium you choose.

**Reminder** If you are a Contra Costa middle school student, you can enter the California Writers Club Mt. Diablo Young Writers Contest FREE as many times as you like. Categories are short stories, poems, and personal narratives/essays. See www.lizbooks.com or http://mtdiablowriters.org/ for specifics.

7 Responses to “Make a Date with Writing”

  1. Lisa Stackpole Says:

    I had to comment on your affinity for Sleeping Beauty. My brother’s wife’s father used to work for Disney, and he did the voice of several Disney characters. I know he did Thumper in The Seven Dwarfs, and I believe he also did one or two voices in Sleeping Beauty. He died when my sister in law was only about 9 years old, but she can always hear his voice by listening to the old Disney films he took part in. I think that is kind of cool.

    • lizbooks Says:

      That is wonderful! What a fabulous legacy he has left to the family. Now when she misses him, she can turn on the movie and hear his voice . . . This leads to another idea of course. Family history. Another great topic. Tape your family when at all possible! Interview them, take movies of them at events when they aren’t thinking about being “on” camera . . . this will help your memories too and help your writing and art even more. Thank you so much Lisa for sharing. Beautiful! (Now I have to pop in my copy of Sleeping Beauty again!) Liz

  2. Michelle Says:

    Hi Elizabeth,

    What a lovely idea for a blog! I posted a poem today inspired by Hans Christian Andersen’s The Princess and the Pea:

    http://peonymoon.wordpress.com/2009/02/03/the-princess-and-the-pea

  3. jackruss86 Says:

    Replying to your Query, I’m a member of a delightful and challenging critique group we call “Writers on the Journey (WOTJ)”. Besides me, we have Dave George, Susan Berman, Nannette Carroll, Cheryl Spanos, Elisabeth Tuck, and Jill Hedgecock. We meet every second Thursday 7-8:30 PM at a member’s home on a rotational plan.

    • lizbooks Says:

      I’ve heard about your wonderful critique group, Jack, and Camille’s, too. They both sound fabulous! A good point of both of these groups is to network in the California Writers Club and Sisters in Crime and online like Susan, to find great writing connections that can last for years. I’ve known a couple of the people in my group for over twenty-years! (met them when I was two? )

  4. Lani Longshore Says:

    Hi, Liz – re your question on critique groups, I am in two and a half. Ed Miracle, Marlene Dotterer and I have a strictly sci fi group that meets once a month. We get into the technical aspects of writing but with an eye toward a very specific audience. The other group and a half is Hector Timourian’s monthly group out of Tri-Valley Writers. We just recently split into short story and novel groups, with dual membership allowed. I’m not sure I will be able to do a short story group as well as the novel group right away, but having that deadline of 1000 words every month really helped me build up a body of work. Although I am the only sci fi writer in the group, I treasure my colleagues responses. The questions they have asked made me work harder to write clearly, and recognize when I was overusing the genre’s conventions.

Leave a Reply

